Data security & privacy on Google Home

<= Back

We take your privacy seriously. You can control what information is stored and shared with Google. Learn more about how we collect and protect your data when using Google Home.

Data collection

You can share your personal preferences and other information in the settings for Google Home and through your interactions with the Google Assistant.

Google collects data that’s meant to make our services faster, smarter, more relevant, and more useful to you. Google Home learns over time to provide better and more personalized suggestions and answers. You can learn more by visiting Google’s Privacy Policy.

Here’s what data is collected when you choose to share device stats and crash reports using the “Help improve your device” setting.

Google Home uses information you permit it to access to provide better, more helpful answers through the Google Assistant. Third party services may share information with Google Home pursuant to their own privacy policies when you choose to use those services via Google Home.

Yes. If you have agreed to let Google Home do so, it will access your search history to provide you with better, more helpful answers.  Google Home asks you to provide your address during setup. If you choose not to do so, Google Home will guess your approximate location based on your IP address and other signals in order to set alarms for the right time zone and provide you with relevant weather and traffic information.
If you have opted to share information with Google, Google uses that information, along with your Google history, to better assist you with customizations like your name and interests. You can delete your history, which will limit the personalized experience for features like the Google Assistant. You can view your history with the Google Assistant in My Activity, which is accessible through the setup app and online at myactivity.google.com. You have control over your data and the power to delete history at any time.

Data use

First and foremost, we use data to make our services faster, smarter, and more useful to you, such as by providing better search results and timely traffic updates. Data also helps protect you from malware, phishing, and other suspicious activity. For example, we warn you when you try to visit dangerous websites. Also, on surfaces where we show ads, we use data to show you ads that are relevant and useful, and to keep our services free for everyone. Google Home learns over time to provide better and more personalized suggestions and answers. For more information, visit Google’s Privacy Policy.

Data storage

Google stores data about our conversations on its servers, which reside in its data centers. For more information, you can visit https://www.google.com/about/datacenters/. You can view and delete your past interactions with the Google Assistant in My Activity.
Conversation history with Google Home and the Google Assistant is saved until you choose to delete it.
You can go to Assistant history in My Activity (myactivity.google.com) or the My Activity link in the setup app to view what you’ve asked and delete it if you want.
You can edit the information you allow Google Home to access in your settings. You can also delete your conversation history in My Activity.

Data security

Your security comes first in everything we do. If your data is not secure, it is not private. That is why we make sure that Google services are protected by one of the world’s most advanced security infrastructures. Conversations in Google Home are encrypted by default.

Data deletion

You can go to Assistant history in My Activity (myactivity.google.com) or the My Activity link in the setup app to view what you’ve asked and delete it if you want.
When you delete items from My Activity, they are permanently deleted from your Google Account. However, Google may keep service-related information about your account, like which Google products you used and when, to prevent spam and abuse and to improve our services. Learn more about the information we collect and why.
You can delete your activity in the setup app or at myactivity.google.com.

Privacy

No. Google Home listens in short (a few seconds) snippets for the hotword. Those snippets are deleted if the hotword is not detected, and none of that information leaves your device until the hotword is heard. When Google Home detects that you’ve said “Ok Google” or that you’ve physically long pressed the top of your Google Home device, the LEDs on top of the device light up to tell you that recording is happening, Google Home records what you say, and sends that recording (including the few-second hotword recording) to Google in order to fulfill your request. You can delete those recordings through My Activity anytime.
Anyone who is near your Google Home device can request information from it, and if you have given Google Home access to your calendars, Gmail or other personal information, people can ask your Google Home device about that information. Google Home also gets information about you from your other interactions with Google services.
We do not sell your personal information to anyone. There are some circumstances where we share information with third parties, which are listed in Google’s Privacy Policy. On Google Home, if you request a service from a business like Uber, we will send information you’ve provided to that service to complete a booking or confirm a ride. In these cases, we will have previously asked you to give us permission to share that information with that service.
To completely turn off Google Home, you must unplug the power adapter from the wall outlet.

Google Account and settings

Google Home requires a Google account to operate, and your search history on Google Home will appear in that account’s search history.  Also, if you give Google Home permission, it may access your data saved in other Google services like Calendar and Gmail in order to answer questions you ask.
Please view our article on deleting your google account

Services

Note: The services referred to below don’t include music, home control, news, and video services that work with Google Home.

We do not sell your personal information to anyone. There are some circumstances where we share information with third parties, which are listed in Google’s Privacy Policy. On Google Home, if you request a service from a business like Uber, we will send information you’ve provided to that service to complete a booking or confirm a ride. In these cases, we will have previously asked you to give us permission to share that information with that service.
To help you faster and more easily, a service might use information from past conversations with you, even if they happened on different Google Home devices.
For example, a service that recommends you concerts in your area can remember your music preferences so you don’t have to tell them each time.
All services are required to register a privacy policy that explains what information they record and how they use it. The privacy policy must also explain how you can control the way they use your information. To read a service’s privacy policy, look it up under the service’s page in the Google Home app.
Before a service can see any of the information stored in your account (such as your email address, name, or contacts), it’ll ask for your permission. We won’t share personal information like your name, email, or address with a service without your permission.

For example, if you’re using a service to find local plumbers, it may ask:
“In order to recommend a plumber nearby, I’ll just need to get your street address from Google. Is that ok?”
You can accept or deny the request.

Yes, we save your conversations to make our services faster, smarter, and more useful to you, and also to help us protect you from malware, phishing, and other suspicious activity. For more information, visit Google’s Privacy Policy.
You can view and delete your conversation history at your Google Account’s My Activity page. Learn how to delete activity saved in My Activity in the titled article.
Generally no. Google transcribes what you say and sends the text, but not the audio, to the third-party service provider.