How to change Nest Hello video doorbell settings

<= Back

Nest Hello lets you decide when to get notifications about the activity your camera spots, and what kinds of activity it should look for. You can also choose a different video quality for the footage your camera captures, turn the microphone on and off, and even turn off your home’s indoor chime when you want some peace and quiet.

Here’s how to access your Nest Hello’s settings:

– Tap your video doorbell on the Nest app home screen.

– Tap the Settings  icon.

– See the sections below for details about each setting.

Camera On/Off:

This option lets you manually turn your camera on or off, regardless of your Home/Away Assist settings or schedule (see below).

What happens when you turn the camera on or off?

Indoor chime On/Off:

If you like, you can turn off your doorbell chime so it won’t ring when someone presses Hello’s button. For example, Indoor chime On/Off can come in handy during sick days when you don’t want to be disturbed by a doorbell ring for an extended period of time.

Hello will still send notifications to your phone when someone rings the doorbell and the visitor will hear a tone when they press the button, but you won’t hear your indoor chime or visitor announcements from your Google Assistant.

If you only want to temporarily mute your doorbell chime, you can select Quiet Time instead.

Important: If you don’t hear your indoor chime after Quiet Time has ended, check your settings. Make sure the Indoor chime On/Off setting is on.

For more details, see the following article: “How to change your Nest camera’s microphone, speaker and audio settings”

Tip: If your doorbell loses its Wi-Fi connection, the indoor chime will automatically turn back on regardless of its setting in the Nest app. That way, your chime will still work while you’re troubleshooting Wi-Fi and connection issues

Home/Away Assist:

When Home/Away Assist is on, your camera can automatically turn itself on when you’re away and turn back off when you get home.

For more details, see the following article: “How your camera works with Home/Away Assist”

Schedule:

If you want to have Nest Hello’s camera turn on and off at specific times, you can set a schedule.

For more details, see the following article: “How to schedule your camera to turn on and off at specific times”

Notifications:

When your camera notices activity, you can have it send an alert to your phone, send an email, or both. You can choose what types of activity your camera looks for and whether to get notifications all the time or only when you’re away.

For more details, see the following article: “Learn more about camera alerts and how to change settings”

Visitor announcements:

If you have a Google Assistant-enabled speaker, you can have it announce when a visitor rings your Nest Hello. It can even announce them by name if you have a Nest Aware subscription and you’ve saved your visitor’s name in your familiar faces. You can set this up in the Google Assistant app.

Quality and bandwidth:

If your internet connection is slow or if your internet service provider limits how much data you can use in a month, change this setting to have your camera use less data.

For more details, see the following article: “How to change your camera’s video quality”

Night Vision:

Night Vision lets your camera look for activity when there’s little or no light.

For more details, see the following article: “How Nest camera see in daylight and darkness”

Camera sharing:

This option lets you see whether you’ve chosen to share your camera’s video stream with others.

For more details, see the following article: “How to share your camera’s video stream or make it private”

Activity history:

If you don’t have a Nest Aware subscription, the Nest app will display snapshots of activity spotted by your camera over the last few hours.

If you choose to turn off activity history, your camera will stop capturing snapshots and all your existing snapshots will be deleted.

For more details, see the following article: “How to opt-out of free Sightline snapshots and turn off free activity history for your camera”

Status light:

Nest Hello includes a small status light that can turn on whenever your camera is capturing video or when someone’s watching the live feed. You can turn the light on or off for these activities.

Note: Before you turn off the status light, make sure that doing so will comply with all applicable privacy laws.

In addition, Nest Hello’s status light and light ring will always turn on for certain activities. For complete details, see the following article: “What the lights and sounds mean”

Chime duration:

This option lets you adjust how long your doorbell rings when someone presses the button on Nest Hello.

Note: This option is only available if you have an electric chime. It won’t work for mechanical chimes.

Microphone:

You can turn Nest Hello’s microphone on or off. Keep in mind, if the microphone is off, it won’t pick up sounds and you won’t be able to hear what people are doing at your door.

Note: Before turning on the microphone or audio recording, make sure that doing so will comply with all applicable privacy laws.

For more details, see the following article: “Learn more about your camera’s microphone, speaker and audio settings”

Spoken language:

Whenever someone rings the doorbell, you can tell Nest Hello to reply with a pre-recorded Quick Response in the language of your choice.

For more details, see the following article: “How to use Quick Responses”

Wi-Fi Connection:

This option lets you choose a different Wi-Fi network for your camera.

Tip: Don’t change this option unless you need to. For example, you might need to change this option if you’ve updated your Wi-Fi password, gotten a new router, or given your Wi-Fi network a new name.

For more details, see the following article: “What to do when you change your Wi-Fi password or replace your router”

Where:

This lets you name your Nest Hello with its location, for example, “Porch.” You’ll choose the location from a list during initial setup, but you can change it or add a custom label.

For more details, see the following article: “How to change the name of your Nest Hello”

Delete history:

If you want, you can permanently delete your camera’s entire video history, including any snapshots your camera recorded. However, this will not delete any clips saved to your account.

Important: When you delete your camera’s video history, everything captured up to this point will be erased. Once your video history and snapshots are deleted, they’re gone forever. They cannot be recovered. We do not keep backups.

For more details, see the following article: “How to delete your camera’s video history and snapshots”

Remove camera:

If you need to, you can remove your Nest Hello from your account and start over again.

For more details, see the following article: “How to remove a product from your account in the Nest app”