How to delete your camera’s video history and snapshots
How footage and snapshots normally expire and are automatically deleted:
Your video history and snapshots will automatically be deleted during normal use. Here are the ways this happens:
Rolling video history: Depending on which Nest Aware plan you have, your camera’s older footage and snapshots will automatically expire and be deleted after a certain number of days.
If you don’t have a subscription, you’ll still get snapshots for up to 3 hours in the past, which will also automatically expire and be deleted after 3 hours.
Removing a camera from the Nest app or cancelling a subscription: Your camera’s video history and snapshots will also be deleted if you remove the camera from your account in the Nest app or cancel your camera’s Nest Aware subscription.
How to manually delete your video history:
You can manually delete your video history with the Nest app by selecting the Delete video history option in your camera’s settings. Using this option only affects the camera you have selected. So your other cameras will keep their video history and Sightline snapshots.
If you don’t have a Nest Aware subscription and you’d like to stop getting activity snapshots in your Sightline, you can turn them off.
Important: When you delete your camera’s video history, all video history and Sightline snapshots recorded up to this point will be erased. Once your video history and snapshots are deleted, they’re gone forever. They cannot be recovered. We do not keep backups.
Deleting your video history won’t delete any of your saved clips or timelapses. Before deleting your video history, be sure to make clips of any parts of your video history that you’d like to keep.
If you’re sure you’ve taken the steps to preserve any clips you’d like to keep, follow these steps to delete your camera’s video history using the Nest app on your phone, tablet, or computer.
|1. Open the Nest app and sign in to your account. If you’re on your computer, sign in at home.nest.com.
2. From the home screen, select the camera that has the video history you want to delete.
3. Tap the Settings in the upper right corner of the app.
4. Scroll down and tap Delete video history.
5. Tap Delete history to confirm. All of your camera’s video history and snapshots will be deleted immediately and will be unrecoverable.