How to disable Nest Tag or remove it from your account

<= Back

If you’ve misplaced a Nest Tag, you can temporarily disable it with the Nest app. A disabled Nest Tag can be easily re-enabled or given to someone else when you’re ready to use it again. If a Tag is lost, you can remove it from your account if you want to be sure no one else can re-enable it.

We’ve all locked our keys in the car or even lost them. But if you lose your Nest Tag and disable it, you don’t need to worry about someone else finding and using it. Before disabling Tag or removing it from your account in the Nest app, there are a few things you should know.

Differences between disabling and removing Tag

Disabling a Tag is best used as a temporary measure. So you should disable a Tag if you want to use it again soon. Anyone who has shared access to a Nest home can disable Tags so they can’t be used.

Removing a Tag should be done if you want to be sure that no one else can use it to disarm your home’s Nest Secure. This is a good solution if you’ve lost a Tag. The Tag’s owner is the only person who can remove it. If you remove a Tag, you’ll need to go through setup again if you want to use it in the future.

How to disable or remove Nest Tag

– Tap Settings  on the Nest app home screen.

– Select the Nest Tag that you want to disable.

– Tap Nest Tag On/Off.

Off means that it can’t be used to disarm Nest Secure

On means that it can be used to disarm.

If you’re sure you won’t get your Nest Tag back, you should remove it from your account in the Nest app by tapping Remove Nest Tag at the bottom of the screen. This will help ensure that it can’t be used to disarm Nest Secure.

After the Nest Tag is removed, it can only be reactivated by adding it back to your account in the Nest app.