How to share your camera’s video stream with other people or make it private

<= Back

By default, your Nest camera or Dropcam video stream is private. If you want to share your camera’s video stream, there are three ways you can do it: you can invite people to join your Nest home using Family Accounts, you can share the video stream with a password-protected link, or you can stream the video publicly for anybody to see.

If you’re the owner of the Nest home or share access to a home, you can watch your camera’s video stream in the Nest app on your phone, or at home.nest.com on a computer.

If you want other people to be able to see your video stream, there are three ways you can share it without giving them your account email and password for the app. Never share your password with anybody. You can:

– Invite people to share access to your Nest home, and let them create their own account

– Share a password-protected link

– Share a public link

Share your camera with Family Accounts:

With Family Accounts, you can share access to your Nest home and all the cameras and settings in it. Simply send an invitation with the Nest app to people you want to share with. Once they accept your invitation, they can view the live video stream of all the cameras you have in your home. They’ll also get any alerts you’ve enabled for motion, sound and more. If you have a Nest Aware subscription, they’ll be able to view the Video History of your cameras.

Keep in mind that you’re also giving them control and access to all the Nest and Works with Nest products in your home. They’ll be able to change settings, remove products from your account and more, so only share with people who you trust.

Learn more about inviting people to share control of your Nest home:

As the account owner, you can remove people from your Nest home any time you want.

How to remove people from your home with the Nest app:

Note: Whether or not you’re sharing your camera’s video stream with a public link, you can also invite people to share access to your Nest home. These features work independently of each other.

Share your camera at a password-protected link:

If you’d like to share your camera’s video with other people but don’t want to share access to your Nest home and all the devices in it, you can share your camera’s video at a password-protected link.

This way you can privately share the video stream without worrying about other people viewing it. Up to ten people who have both the link and the password will be able to view your video stream simultaneously.

Share your camera publicly without a password:

When you share publicly, anyone with the link to your camera can watch the live video stream and share the link with others (there’s no password needed).

Keep in mind that when you share without setting a password, anyone who is able to get the link can watch your video stream. So this way of sharing is better for when you want to use your camera to host a live event, such as a party or a tournament, and want to let many people watch it.

With the public URL, you can also embed your camera’s live stream on a web page. If you stop sharing your camera publicly, the footage will no longer appear on the page.

The Nest web page with your live video stream is not indexed, so it won’t show up in a search engine like Google. But if you embed the video in another web page, a search engine may be able to find that page.

Differences between Family Accounts, password-protected sharing, and public sharing:

The table below summarizes what people you’ve shared your camera with will be able to do. For instance, sharing publicly only affects one camera. This way, you can have a mix of shared and private cameras in your account, and people who have access won’t be able to change your camera settings. The table below summarizes the differences in camera sharing methods.

Sharing method What’s shared View live stream View video history Alerts Control cameras

Family Account

All cameras

(and other Nest products in the home)

yes yes yes

yes

(and other Nest products in the home)

Public

Selected cameras yes no no

no

With password Selected cameras yes no no

no

How to manage sharing your video stream

How to share your video stream with a public or password-protected link:
– Sign in to the Nest app with a computer (your camera’s privacy settings can’t be changed on a phone or tablet).

– Select the camera that you want to share and click on Settings  in the top right corner of your browser window.

Note: If you don’t see the Settings  icon, increase the size of your web browser window to reveal it.

– Click on Camera sharing.

– You now have two options: Share with password or Share publicly.

Share with password: Click this to let specific people view your camera’s live stream. They’ll need the link to your camera and they’ll need to enter the password you set.

Share publicly: This lets anyone with the link view your camera’s stream. No password is needed.

Once you’ve chosen an option, click on Agree & Share to confirm.

Note: If you ever want to stop sharing your camera, just click on the Stop sharing camerabutton.

– If you’ve chosen to share with a password, you’ll set it on this screen.

– Enter a password at least 8 characters long. It needs to have both upper and lowercase letters, and at least one number and symbol. For example: Nesthome1!

– Click Share with a password when you’re done.

Important: To help with security, you cannot use the same password that you use to sign in to the Nest app to share your camera.

– Here you can see the link created for your camera. Copy it to share with other people, embed on a web page or post to social media.

Note: You can’t customize the link, but you can change the password if you’ve set one. If you need to, navigate back to this page and click on Change password.

– If you choose to stop sharing your camera and then share it again, a new link will be generated.

How to stop sharing your video stream on the web (with or without a password):
– Sign in to the Nest app with a computer (your camera’s privacy settings can’t be changed on a phone or tablet).

– Select the camera that you want to stop sharing and click on Settings  in the top right corner of your browser window.

Note: If you don’t see the Settings  icon, increase the size of your web browser window to reveal it.

– Click on Camera sharing.

– Click on Stop sharing camera.